Don’t Cha Just Hate It?

I just saw a cowboy film I last saw when I was on holiday in 1996 and back then I thought it was awesome. For 12 years my brother and I wondered what it was called since we missed the beggining, there were no ad breaks, or TV guides in English, hell we didn’t even know what channel we were on!

The only detail of particular note that we remembered was the name of the Villain.

Graff

One night last year, by chance I stumbled upon information that led me on the trail to finding out what the film was called.

I found out, not only that the film was called The Last Outlaw, but that Graff was played by none other than Mickey Rourke.

A year later at my brother’s insitence I find a copy, we get drunk (that’s another story), and we watch the film.

I have to say we were both quite disappointed.

It just wasn’t how we remembered it. The film we saw all those years ago was epic, violent and cool and I swear there were Apaches in it.

This was short, dumb, and boring furthermore it lacked any type of native american tomahawk wielding, bow slinging action.

(side note: This is in comparrison to the film we expected to see, as a film it’s quite good and the acting is fine.)

The memory of the film all those years ago has not been tainted, and I retain the essence of what it was that made it great to a 7 and 10 year old.

One day i will make the film that i saw and not the film it was 13 years later. I might even throw in a few other fun elements into the mix. I think it would be pretty cool to change Graff into some sort of Vampire, Werewolf, stalker killer thing and give all his old posse bigger guns.


Josh

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

